Blog

How to Keep it Kosher: Ways That You Can Accommodate Your Guests

If you’re having an event with Kosher guests, then we can help.

If you’re having an event with Kosher guests, then we can help. The beautiful thing about hiring us is that we can accommodate guests with a multitude of dietary restrictions. Whether your guests have allergies, are vegans and vegetarians, or they’re Kosher, we have you covered. Although it may seem daunting, it is more than possible to cater to your Jewish guests. Keep reading. We’re going to discuss the ways how you can keep it Kosher and accommodate your guests. 

What Does ‘Kosher’ Mean?

The kashrut or Jewish dietary law outlines what foods are edible and how you should handle them and prepare them. There are three categories of food that you should serve to your guests. These include Kosher meat and dairy, and Pareve. In an Orthodox home, meats and dairies have separate refrigerators as well as ovens, pans, cooking utensils, plates, and flatware for each. Pareve refers to food that does not contain meat or dairy such as nuts, fruits, and vegetables. 

 

Pigs are not considered to be Kosher. You have to use margin instead of butter. Dairy must only come from a cow or sheep. Bottom feeding shellfish or any vegetables that may contain bugs are also not Kosher. Any alcohol served must have a Kosher seal of approval or symbol on it.

Questions That You Should Consider: 

  1. Will the entire event cater to your Jewish guests? If the gathering 100% follows the kashrut, then explain this to a caterer as soon as you know. Foods need preparation in a specific manner. Remember, these are religious beliefs and not solely dietary restrictions. Therefore, the kitchen will need to be Kosher as well as all cooking equipment and utensils. Also, in the case of a Vaad, or Hebrew rabbi that needs to approve the food, they cannot work from sundown Friday to Saturday.
  2. Does there need to need to be religious observation? At some events, the menu is Kosher-styled without there necessarily being religious observation. What this means is that a caterer can separate the food while preparing and serving it, but it does not need to have a Vaad there in the case of a Bar or Batz Mitzvah.
  3. Would Your Guests Prefer Kosher Meals Shipped? As long as these frozen meals have a Vaad approved seal, preparation can happen in a non-Kosher oven. These meals can come at an additional cost but are sure to please your Jewish guests an give them peace of mind. 

Catering by Alan Weiss

If you are ready to hire caterers for your next party or event, then look no further. Our trained professionals are ready and willing to do whatever to make your next event a success. For more information and to view our menu, visit us online or give us a call at 443-394-8338 or 800-459-0009. For tips, tricks, and to see what we have been up to, be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and YouTube.

Tags: , ,